Audacity Audio mixing and effects help

This is a place to discuss Files you want to create, script writing, and hypnosis technique.

Moderator: EMG

Audacity Audio mixing and effects help

Postby thisisdiz » April 3rd, 2019, 4:46 pm

I just completed my second audio file that I plan to upload here but I'm curious as to suggestions regarding the edit. I can crop and fix crackles or mistakes but I'm unsure what kind of additive effects I could be using to enhance the file. I'm still learning Audacity so any guidance would be great!
thisisdiz

Re: Audacity Audio mixing and effects help

Postby zapnosis » April 4th, 2019, 4:12 am

Hi Diz!

Not sure what kind of effects you are looking for, but Audacity is great for creating brainwave beats. I have a file called The Ladder which is a background beat made in Audacity and if something like that interests you I can give you all kinds of tips. Let me know...

Cheers
Zap
"Feelings, sensations that you thought was dead,
no squealing... remember that it's all in your head"
zapnosis
Mentor
Mentor

Postby thisisdiz » April 4th, 2019, 9:09 pm

Hey Zap,

That sounds promising and I’d happily take you up on that! However I was also interested in if there were any edits besides just cropping and cutting that I should be looking to do. For example should I check the max/min volume, is there an equalizer or volume balancer I should use, should I make adjustments to the pitch somehow or add reverb or some other effects?
thisisdiz

Postby zapnosis » April 5th, 2019, 3:48 am

In the version I have (which is probably out of date), there are quite a few options under the "effect" menu. Sometimes I play around with them to see what they do, but mostly I use amplify, fade in/out and tremolo for beats. Occasionally I use change pitch, which sounds like something you'd be interested in, and there is also an echo effect which I'm sure will add reverb-like effects. Do you have this on your version?